Yeast Free Bread Recipe Diary

Sat, Aug 4, 2012

Today I made the yeast free bread for the first time in a very long time.  For the flour I chose Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose Gluten Free Flour (garbanzo bean, potato starch, tapioca starch, white sorghum, fava bean).

I substituted Agave for the Sugar or Honey.  I used milk and oil in place of rice milk and melted  butter.  Because I wanted this to be used for breakfast I mixed 2 tsps. of cinnamon/sugar (more cinnamon than sugar) in with the flour.  The results are:  The bread tasted ok but still a little overpowering taste of garbanzo bean and the cinnamon flavor didn’t come through.  I sliced it and toasted it with butter and it was good.  I sliced it and tried French toast.  It took two tries.  The first time my slice was a little too thick.  I think the bread soaked up some of the egg mixture but probably could have used a little more milk in the mixture to help with absorption of a thicker bread.  NOTE:  If using the same exact ingredients I think I would put half the batter in the pan, add some cinnamon sugar (maybe 2 tbs.), add the rest of the batter and swirl with a knife.  I might like to try it using Bette Hagman’s Gluten free flour mixture which can be made by mixing 3 cup rice flour, 1 cup potato starch (not flour) and 1/2 cup tapioca starch.

2 responses to “Yeast Free Bread Recipe Diary

  1. Thanks for sharing this Kathy. I did not realize that Bob’s Red Mill had this product! I would just like to also share that there are some of us who just can’t tolerate any amount of gluten. I was eating what I thought was gluten free diet by just going to the local health food store and down the gluten free isle and buying whatever sounded good. I was still getting sick. So I have had to go totally grain free and learn to read every label.

    For instance, since corn is a grain and the list of food additives made out of corn is so long, I now carry my tablet when I shop so that I can quickly pull up this page: www,cornallergens.com

    With my foggy mold damaged brain, I can no longer trust my memory and the above list is very long. Not all corn derivitives will sound like “corn” anything when you read them….for instance citric acid, maltodextron, or Calcium citrate, just to name a few.

    Technically I believe that I may have Celiacs but have no insurance and can’t afford to be tested right now to prove I am right. But eating like I have Celiacs has really made a difference.

    Which brings me to the rest of what I wanted to share….I also found out that the litte things in the intestines that look like hairs in pictures…..get damaged from the gluten when you have Celiacs…..this is also the same thing that occurs with Candida and I know that many of us mold survivors have Candida as well. These damaged “hair like” things are what digests lactose, so dairy free often is needed as well with Gluten free.

    I had given up all grains, and started to feel better, but then had a relapse, gave up the dairy next and saw much improvement again. Then recently, even though all I was eating was fresh produce and meat, the occasional bit of sugar I was getting from condiments or by drinking sugar sweetened drinks was making me get bloated again and gain weight. So I am now off of sugar, agave, honey, maple syrup, all the safe sweetners even…and using Stevia….again feeling better, bloating going away and weight coming off…I quit feeding the Candida.

    My husband keeps asking me what I am going to eat if I have to give up any more??? Not sure, but the feeling better and weight loss is motivating me to continue this new eating life style for now….and I try not to dwell on those things I can’t ever eat again!

    One last thing….I have a friend with Celiacs that has done extensive research on it and she believes that continuing to eat gluten if you are allergic to it will lead to colon cancer… and she bases this on family members who have died from this after a life of Celiac symptoms that were ignored and gluten consumed without restraint…

  2. I have heard the problems with Celiacs not adhering to the gluten free lifestyle. It is scary. It is very hard giving up so many foods. I was doing very well with my diet but have been a little lax (except for mold containing foods) and am going to make myself get back to a stricter dietary regimine.

    I used the http://www.cornallergens.com site and another one (can’t remember the name) that listed all ingredients that can be wheat. I need to find that again and post it here.

    I am glad you are doing better. I think we all start out very strict and then sometimes get tempted to stray a little and then deal with the consequences. Keep letting us know when you have more information to share and sites to review.

Leave a Reply

