I am allergic to my bonsai tree.

This was a search question that led someone to my blog. Yes it is possible to be allergic to a bonsai tree. We can develop allergies and sensitivities to most anything we come in contact with over time. The other thought is that this person could not only be sensitive/allergic to the bonsai tree but if the plant is indoors they could be reacting to mold in the soil of the plant.

I don’t keep houseplants. I don’t want anything that will remain wet and set up an environment for mold to grow in. I have been recently thinking about growing plants in water to have greenery and to filter the air. I used to root philodendron plants in water and they would just grow like crazy in whatever jar I put them in. I did a little research and found that basically most plants can be grown in water. http://www.rodale.com/easy-houseplants

As soon as I can get some clippings I am going to start my own indoor plant garden.  I promise to post pictures when I get my own going.  Below are some plants that are grown in water.

 

13 responses to “I am allergic to my bonsai tree.

  1. PrincessandthePea

    Have you heard of tillandsias? They might work as a plant for those with allergies. I have a severe mold sensitivity and had some luck with succulents and even orchids but again if there is a sensitivity to mold or even sensitivity to the plants themselves, it’s individual for what can and can’t be tolerated. Whenever I handle any plants or pot anything indoors or out I wear an N95 mask and gloves and that makes a BIG difference to my reactivity. I have a local greenhouse pot my plants ever year and another greenhouse over winter my succulents so that I have nice plants in the summer. Succulents I find the best near my doorways as they don’t attract flying bugs (bees mosquitoes etc) and don’t have any scents!

    • I can’t even tolerate the N95 masks. I used to have one of these type of plants years ago. It is something I have considered getting. Thank you for reminding me of them.

  2. I wish you were close to give you hundreds of clippings— I have no problems with house plants– as a matter of fact– I’m BETTER when I have house plants– so I have hundreds!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You could have a cutting off of any you wanted!!!

  3. I can so relate to this, Kathryn. as you know, I’m an avid bonsai collector and a keen gardener; but in the last year, I’ve had to let it all go. On most days my family water my plants because i can’t go out because of fabric softeners and general pollution. I have a few that need repotting, however, I won’t be doing that until I feel better. (I’ve been known to sneak out after midnight to water plants, but I can’t use a hose or disturb the soil or else I’ll have mould symptoms.

    And I can’t keep any plants in the house. I have one Japanese bamboo, which I grow in water so that I can change it regularly.

    I’d say this person is reacting to the mould in the soil. I can’t believe what happens just from having a dig in the soil 😦

    On a positive, I’ve had two days where i’ve been able to garden, trim roses, and hedges, along with the help of my daughter.

    To me, the bonsai tree is symbolic of living in a controlled environment.

  4. Miche – It is so hard. I have flowering plants in pots around the house and hanging in pots on the fence. I can water them but when new soil needs added or plants need to be changed out, I rely on my mother, my sister, daughter or husband. I loved working with my flowers. I have pots because there aren’t all the weeds to be pulled that I can’t do and will not ask others to do.

    • Gardening in my thearpy–& my husband’s also— we have a green house– & we plant our heirloom seeds & start our plants in our green house– & then we have raised garden beds– & I do tons of container gardening!! We compose– so we know what is in our dirt that we raise our food in– then we know it has no chemicals—-we have lots of sun shine– so no mold problems!!! We have lots & lots & lots of flower gardens that I also plant herbs– for cooking– We have several rose gardens-&- fish pond– & I container garden on our huge back deck– & porches & covered patio areas– I have lots of mint– I have cho- & spearment– peppermint– pineapple mint– apple mint– etc -etc etc-etc-over 15 different kinds – that also keep the unwanted bugs off of our porches & decks & patios– We grow every kind of heirloom tomato– peppers– every kind of green– & salad makings– & every kind of squash– etc- etc -etc -etc–it is our haven– it is our escape– & it is beautiful & it feeds us with chemical free food!!!!!!!! And also filters the air–we can be in our back yard & deck– & not know any one is even with in miles of us–even through they are– we have a forrest in back of our yard– & we also plant sunflowers– & many other flowering plants that feed the wild life– & we have planted fruit trees– & also bushes that have berries that feed the wild life– with NO CHEMICALS!!!! IT IS OUR THERPY– & our paradice– & get-away!!!!!!!

  5. How wonderful to be able to do that.

  6. Very interesting. My boyfriend is Japanese and I would love to have a bonsai tree, but I had never thought about the allergy factor. A recent allergy test showed I’m allergic to lots of trees and to mold, among other things. We currently have one houseplant that doesn’t give me any problems, but I hadn’t considered whether getting a bonsai tree could aggravate symptoms. Thanks for the post!

    • It’s bad when you can’t even have a plant inside. I am definitely going to consider the plants in water. I just need to find a plant that I really like and get a clipping.

  7. Pingback: Meet Dorothy | allergictolifemybattle

  8. Pingback: Breathing easier with plants. | allergictolifemybattle

  9. I constantly emailed this blog post page to all my associates, for the reason
    that if like to read it next my links will too.

Leave a Reply

