Millions of people who suffer from chronic illness will soon be subject to diagnosis as mentally ill.

Based on the DSM-5  (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) I would fall under the category of mentally ill and given the diagnosis of having a Somatic Symptom Disorder for my constant vigilance regarding my health and keeping myself symptom free.  Author Toni Bernhard (How to Be Sick) wrote about this new label in an article written for Psychology Today.  This same topic was covered in a post from the blog, Life as we know it (links to both are shown at the bottom of this post.

I wonder how many of you or those you know would fit into this category.  I had a workers’ compensation doctor state that I had a somatoform disorder (the same one I wrote about that said I should have doctors come to me and then somehow leave it out of his report) and fortunately for me the judge didn’t agree with his report.  I am fortunate that my doctors have seen me from the beginning of my illness through to the present and have seen my reactions and know that what I do is necessary.  However, what if I suddenly had to see another doctor and discuss all that I do to be safe and have a semblance of life?  Would this doctor believe me?  Would he say that I have a Somatic Symptom Disorder and then prescribe drugs?

This is just wrong on so many levels.  I want to know what you think after you read about this.

http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/turning-straw-gold/201301/your-physical-illness-may-now-be-labeled-mental-disorder
http://cfs-facts.blogspot.com/2013/01/dsm-5-somatic-symptom-disorder.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+blogspot%2FxkdoO+%28Life+as+we+know+it%29&utm_content=Yahoo%21+Mail

2 responses to “Millions of people who suffer from chronic illness will soon be subject to diagnosis as mentally ill.

  1. This is alarming Kathy and I so agree it is not right!

  2. Toni Bernhard’s blog post was in response to this commentary by Allen Frances, MD. Dr Frances had chaired the Task Force for DSM-IV:

    Mislabeling Medical Illness As Mental Disorder | Psychology Today | Allen Frances

    http://bit.ly/10Z4bPY

    Follow- up post:

    Bad News DSM-5 Refuses To Correct Somatic Symptom Disorder | Psychology Today | Allen Frances

    http://bit.ly/1202wsD

Leave a Reply

