What does target shooting have to do with my asthma?

Last weekend my husband and I drove to our daughter’s house for a visit. They live in the mountains and have acreage. My son-in-law and husband both hunt. They decided to do a little target shooting in the back field. When we left the house my husband also brought a handgun that he wanted me to practice with. It had been quite a while since I had last fired the gun myself. I took the gun, aimed it at the target and fired. Immediately I smelled the sulfurous odor from the gun powder as my lungs began to burn and an asthmatic cough was about to begin.  It is the same reaction I have to lighting a match.

I told my husband that if I was going to fire it any more I would have to walk back to the car to get my charcoal mask to prevent me from inhaling any more sulfur.  He replied, “If someone were to break in and attack you, do you think they would stop for you to get your mask before trying to defend yourself?”  If I truly felt my life were in danger I guess I wouldn’t be worrying about whether or not I was going to have a severe asthmatic attack.  I am not going to be doing any more practice shooting without a mask though.

As I was starting this post last night, another thought came to my mind.  That of my sulfite sensitivity.  I have printed out some material that I want to read over before I write my post on sulfites.  I had a huge amount of paperwork on sulfites back when I first learned about my sensitivity.  Alas, like everything else I had, it has been discarded and I am forced to start from scratch.

I am curious how many of you have a reaction when striking a match?

4 responses to “What does target shooting have to do with my asthma?

  1. KATHY– I HAVE USED A LIGHTER TO START THE GRILL- OR ANY FIRE- & CAN’T EVEN REMEMBER THE LAST TIME I STRUCK A MATCH– AS WE USE A LIGHTER FOR EVERY THING NOW— HAVE NOT FIRED ANY OF OUR GUNS EXCEPT THE AIR RIFLE FOR AGES ALSO– I NEED SOME TARGET SHOOTING TIME ALSO!!! IT HAS BEEN AWHILE!!

  2. I will be very interested in reading your post on sulfites. I have noticed lately that matches bother me immensely – even when struck at the other end of the house, and continue to bother me long after they are struck.

    • I hope to have it ready in the next few days. A busy week ahead of me including an IV on Wednesday morning which wipes me out and an appointment with a photographer Wednesday afternoon to discuss photos for my book cover. I am off to watch a movie and forget about everything for the rest of the evening.

Leave a Reply

