Mattress Cover for Chemical Sensitivity

I have had questions about mattress covers for the chemically sensitive.  When I first became aware of my chemical sensitivities and before I realized I had to get rid of my mattress and everything else, I purchased a barrier cloth mattress cover and pillow covers similar to the picture above which is available from Amazon.com.  The fabric is a very tight weave and helped with some of the products and gasses in my mattress.  However, for me, the barrier cloth also had its own particular odor and I had to wash it a few times to make it safe enough to use.  For those of you who still have the luxury of a real, honest to goodness mattress, do you have mattress covers?  If so, what do you use?

13 responses to “Mattress Cover for Chemical Sensitivity

  1. Gasses in the mattress?? I wasn’t aware! Wow….

  2. I use: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002AQNXR4/ref=oh_details_o04_s00_i00 It’s not organic though, so I don’t know if it would work for your MCS. It did not come with any odor though, thankfully! So far, I’ve had good luck with it.

    What do you sleep on now? I have a tempurpedic mattress. Like the Allergista, I had no clue about gasses in mattresses!

    • I am glad the mattress cover did not come with an odor. It is hard to say if it would bother someone with MCS because our tolerance levels are so different. I sleep on an air mattress. I air it out for quite some time and then bring it into my room. The downside is that these darn mattresses have a shelf life of about one year and then they spring an invisible leak that we can never find and patch. I am waiting for it to get warm here and for the mold count to go down (it has been around 7 or 8 lately) so that I can air out the new one I have. I need to have a back up or I am in trouble, or back to sleeping on that darn cot with blankets for a mattress.

  3. i have a basic mattress cover right now, but have been told by my allergist that i need to get an allergy-free mattress cover because of my severe allergy to dust mites, so i’m in the market for a new one!

Leave a Reply

