Valentine’s Day

Happy Valentine's Day

Happy Valentine’s Day

Today is Valentine’s Day.  Are we going anywhere special?  Are we eating any special dinner?  Today is Day 1 of the three critical days surrounding my LDA (low dose antigen therapy).  I am in isolation for the next three days and will continue to stay so for a few more days to make sure I don’t get any exposures.  What am I having for dinner?  LAMB STEW.  The same lamb stew I will have had for lunch.  The same lamb stew I will have for lunch and dinner tomorrow and the next day.  The only change is when I have a ground lamb patty with potatoes cooked in rendered lamb fat for breakfast.  See my LDA Day 1 from ????

Over the years as I have become sicker, less tolerant of chemicals and indoor enviroments and more allergic to foods,  Valentine’s Day has been celebrated less.  As I was thinking about today’s post I remembered a few Valentine’s Days that were anything but romantic.  I am including a few excerpts from my book.

2001

Valentine’s Day 2001 was anything but romantic. I had been on the IV for a few days and the antifungal drug and oral antibiotic for close to a week. I had gone to work as usual. Rick and I had made no definite plans on how we would spend the evening because I had been sos tired, and we were not sure if I would feel up to anything at the end of the day. Shortly around noon, my throat began to feel restricted. I tried to wait it out. Finally I phoned Dr. D. He suggested that I go to the emergency room. I drove myself to the hospital, which, I realize now, was probablly not the smartest thing to do…..I was released and went home around 2:00 a.m. on Thursday.

2003

Valentine’s Day  was very hard for me. I celebrated without my valentine.  I was in Dallas, and Rick was home in California.  I couldn’t even walk across the alley to the store and buy him a card.  I always bought special things for him, Sarah, and Laura.  I realized that they were just “things” but it was something I looked forward to doing.

The pain in my left eye and sinus area was becoming worse.  I was so hungry from fasting.  “Normal” people were going out to dinner to celebrate and eating fancy desserts and chocolates, and all I had was getting was a lousy glass of water…

2004

On February 11, 2004 (a few days before Valentine’s Day) I wrote in my journal, “I hat this aspect of my life.  It causes paranoia.  I am so afraid of reinfecting myself that I wonder:  even if the allergies get more manageable, will I be able to go out anyway…… and a few days after Valentines Day I was preparing for a much dreaded defense medical appointment

2006

I received notice late in December that my trial would begin soon.  The first session was scheduled for February 7, 2006 (exactly a week before Valentine’s Day).

4 responses to “Valentine’s Day

  1. Sad face! I hope you’re able to at least spend some time together tonight! I know you won’t be able to go out to eat, unfortunately, so hopefully you can enjoy it by spending time together ❤

    • We will be together watching a movie most likely. I will be eating my delicious lamb stew and he will have something else that I have fixed for him. He doesn’t get any of my lamb stew until Day 3. I have to make sure I have plenty to eat. There is usually some left and he has it for dinner with me on Day 3. The strange thing is that I am more hungry on these days than any other day. Maybe my body just really digests these foods the easiest and therefore I find myself hungry sooner than usual.

Leave a Reply

