List of my allergies/sensitivities

Awhile back in a post titled, Identification Please, I talked about my medic alert bracelet and what my inscription says. This is a list of what medic alert has on file for me “in case of an emergency”.  A few months back, my doctor’s PA asked if a certain medication was okay for me.  I couldn’t remember if it had been a problem before because my list is long.  Years ago, when I was constantly being given something for all my maladies, I knew all that I was allergic/sensitive to without blinking my eyes.  Time has passed and the list is less easily remembered.  So, I just had him call medic alert and they immediately faxed him  this list.

MEDICATIONS (CANNOT USE PLASTIC CATHETER NEEDLES)

Allegra

Armour Thyroid

Augmentin

Amphotericin B

Ampicillin

Atavan

Avelox

Azactam

Benadryl (all antihistamines)

Benzalkonium Chloride

Biaxin

Chloramphenical

Cipro

Citanest

Clindamycin

Cytomel

Dextrose (corn allergy)

Diflucan

Erythromycin

Flagyl

Fortaz

Gentamycin

Ibuprofen

Isopropyl Alcohol

Keflex

Lamisil

Levaquin

Levoxyl

Lortab

Naproxen

Nizoral

Penicillin

Primaxin (this caused the episode that almost killed me)

Remeron

Rocefin

Sporanox

Sulfites & Sulfa

Synthroid (lost due to an overdose – the pharmacy gave me the wrong dose and I took it for over a week – over time, I have been able to take this again)

Tequin

Thyrolar

Vfend

Valium

Vancomycin

Zephiran

Zithromax

Zyvox

Lidocaine

Versed

Fentanyl

Gapabentin (Comp only) – can’t even take that any more

Nature-throid

Estradiol (Compounded only)

Progesterone (Comp only)

Acetaminophen

Nature-throid

CHEMICALS

Benzalkonium

Chloride

Chlorine

Cigarette Smoke

Ethanol

Formaldehyde

Glycerine

Ladies/Men’s Cologne

Orris Root

Phenol (Plastics, etc)

Unleaded Gas/Diesel

Fireplace Smoke

Zephiran (benzalkonium name brand)

Methylmercaptan (in rubber & gas)

Latex

FOODS NOT ALLERGIC TO – After looking at this list and then the  list of foods I was allergic to in the beginning you can see what I gave up and how hard it was to eat.  It took about two to three months on the provocation/neutralization treatments to slowly get some foods back as long as I took the shots every four days.  Slowly with this treatment and then later LDA, I gained foods that I never thought I would eat again.

Rabbit

Dove

Acorn Squash

Venison

Elk

Quail

Buffalo

Orange Roughy

Crab (sulfite free)

Milk

Canola Oil

Safflower Oil

Sea Salt

FOODS ALLERGIC TO – after taking injections from the Environmental Health Center and now my LDA treatments – I have gained many foods back.  I was so sick and my body was fighting so hard that it literally thought everything was the enemy.  I lived in a hyper-reactive state for so long.  My body still lives in this state but it reacts less violently to some things than in the beginning. Foods that I can now eat  as long as I don’t abuse them or foods that I can eat after the two weeks following my LDA are  shown in red below.  

Allspice (ANAPHYLACTIC)

Almonds

Amaranth

Apples – organic only

Asparagus

Aspartame

Baker’s Yeast

Banana (ANAPHYLACTIC)

Beef

Beets/Beet Sugar

Black Beans

Blackberries

Black Eyed Peas

Blueberries

Brewer’s Yeast

Broccoli

Brussel Sprouts

Buckwheat

Cabbage

Carob

Carrot

Cashew

Catfish

Celery

Cheese (molds)

Cherries

Chicken

Chocolate (can have mold)

Clove

Coconut (no sulfites)

Concentrated Juices (mold)

CORN (ANAPHYLACTIC) – this was an amazing recovery.

Cumin

Dates

Egg

Eggplant

Flaxseed

Garbanzo Bean

Ginger

Grapefruit

Green Bean

Green Bell Pepper

Green Peas

Kamut

Kiwi

Kidney Bean

Lemon

Lentils

Lettuce

Lotus Flour

Maple Sugar/Syrup

Melon (all)

Millet

Milo Flour

Molasses
Navy Bean

Nectarine

Nutmeg

Oat – steel-cut only

Ocean Perch

Onion

Orange

Oregano

Peach

Peanut

Pear

Pecan

Pineapple

Pinto Bean

Pistachio

Plum

Potato

Pumpkin

Pumpernickel

Quinoa

Red Snapper

Rice

Salmon

Sesame Seed

Shrimp

Sole

Soy

Spaghetti Squash

Spelt

Spinach

Strawberries

Sugar (cane)

Sunflower

Sweet Potato

Swiss Chard

Tangerine

Tangelo

Tapioca

Tea (Black – mold)

Tea (Green)

Teff

Tomato

Tuna

Turkey

Walnut

Wheat

Yam

Yellow Squash

Zucchini

Lamb

Olive/Olive Oil

Cranberry

Grape/Grapeseed Oil Cod

ENVIRONMENTAL ALLERGIES/SENSITIVITIES

Pollens

All Molds

All Chemicals

Dust

Dust Mites

Fabrics (Cotton, etc)

10 responses to “List of my allergies/sensitivities

  1. That’s a list of prescriptions you can’t take? Wow! That’s a lot. What made you willing to try corn again after experiencing anaphylaxis?

    • My doctor thought it would be ok. I just ate a few kernels of organic and waited. The anaphylactic reaction happened early in Dallas when I was reacting to everything and everyone. I tried eating corn a second time in Dallas a few years later and while I didn’t have anaphylaxis, I had hoarseness and tightening of the throat.

      I haven’t and probably will not try bananas. I had problems with them before I had even became sick. Just a little on the tip of my tongue causes my throat to close off.

      All the medication allergies I discovered first hand from trying them.

  2. … Kathryn, would you be up for a talk, wanted to ask questions about Dr. R. in Dallas. Thinking about going, but hearing lots mixed reviews. Thanks

  3. I’m allergic to acetaminophen, and medical professionals always say (loudly), “Really??? I’ve never heard of that!!!” Do you find it a challenge to communicate your allergies to medical professionals?

    • I haven’t had that as of late. But I have had medical professionals say I have never heard of anyone being allergic to Benadryl since it is supposed to help with allergies. Most of my medical care personnel are quite familiar with me and my long list of allergies/sensitivities.

  4. What a list! I didn’t even know it was possible to be allergic to antihistamines. In fact there was a ton of stuff I’ve never even heard of. Though Flagyl stood out – that stuff made me sick as a dog, but I was never told it may be an allergy.

    Your list of foods you’re not allergic to is awfully fancy – quail and venison? Perhaps your body just enjoys the finer things. 😉

  5. You certainly have your hands full. I feel like the man who cried because he had no shoes, then met a man who had no feet.
    I’ll keep you in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

