Book Update

The journey to tell my story has been a long one beginning with those first words I typed into my computer in 2003 to where I am now.  There have been many detours along the way:

  • A 10 plus month stay in Dallas for treatment in 2003
  • A 3 month stay in Dallas for treatment again in 2005
  • Times when I had to shelve the project because writing and reliving my story was too painful causing severe anxiety
  • Fighting for my workers’ compensation
  • Dealing with the illness itself
  • Dealing with the depression brought on by my illness
  • The time it took to edit (both myself and my editor)
  • Choosing a cover idea and finding a photographer

Thursday, March 14th, I have the photographer coming to work on photos for my front cover.  Today I signed the contract to have the cover designed and a webpage created (this project starts on March 28th).  The plan is to have the cover design and webpage created by mid May.  I hope to have everything submitted to the publisher by the end of May.  If everything goes according to plan, it is possible that I could have the book by July or August of this year.  I think I see the light at the end of the “book tunnel”.

From my book an excerpt of a poem:

Feeling all alone

no one wants to talk

The weather is bad

can’t go for a walk

With friends there

is no common thread

Our conversations

are empty and dead

There seems to be

nothing to discuss

Talking and hearing about

me is too much fuss

Will I ever feel

at home and at ease

In this cold house

with this awful disease

They saw a new movie

or found a new place to shop

I got a new food and

found a safe mop

 

21 responses to “Book Update

  1. How exciting to hear about your book progress! I look forward to seeing it in bookstores (I wrote two parenting/healthcare books and completely understand the joys and frustrations!). Good to meet another author.

  2. KATHERN– I AM EXCITED FOR YOU & YOUR BOOK TO BE ABOUT TO COME TO REAL LIFE– I PRAY GOD WILL USE YOUR BOOK TO BRING HOPE & UNDERSTANDING & HELP & HEALING TO ALL THOSE IT REACHES!!! BLESSINGS TO YOU & YOU HAVE THE SUPPORT OF MORE OF YOUR MCS SISTERS NOW- THEN YOU PROBABLY KNOW!!!

  3. Kathryn!! How FANTASTIC, and what an unbelievable accomplishment! I’m so proud of and happy for you. Congratulations, and can’t wait to be able to buy it. (O;

  4. How exciting….. It’s fabulous to hear of plans coming to fruition, even if its taken a long and winding course to get there!

  5. Congratulations on persevering until you reached your goal. You’ve been in this battle a long time. Only those who have shared parts of your journey with you know how difficult it has been and how courageous you are. Sharing your story will help others understand the plight of those who suffer with MCS. The more we educate the public the better our chances of creating safer environments for us and our children and grandchildren.

    • Thank you Jennie. For those of you who don’t know, Jennie Sherwin is the author of Intentional Healing: One Woman’s Path to Higher Consciousness and Healing and Freedom from Environmental and Other Chronic Illnesses. Jennie and I first met in Dallas at the Environmental Health Center-Dallas in 2003.

  6. YAY for progress on the book! I’m envious! And a big *HUG* for your poem and all the different reasons writing the book has taken longer. Thanks for putting the emotional side of it out there. It helps people like me! It makes me not feel guilty quite so much.

  7. Congratulations my friend!! I can’t wait to read it!! You are my very first friend to be a published author and I could not be more proud of you!! I hope you think about writing another book…

  8. Kathryn I’m still following your blog every day even though I have been somewhat silent lately. My ghostwriter and I have been very busy creating a show on Google+ called ‘SlushHeap’. Most people have no idea what this means and I don’t blame them. We made it up so that we could get the rights to it for our website, the show, blogs and anything else we needed to make this show a success. Our slogan (and this will explain the title) Come to SlushHeap and avoid having your manuscript go to the slushpile’.
    Is there a way we can communicate without clogging up your blog. I would like to have you as a guest for our inaugural show? I can then explain things in more detail. Glad to hear your book is awaiting just the cover. I ended up publishing mine on Amazon.com with my own artwork but the soft cover version will get a professional looking cover. Please let me know how we can communicate. My email is rudifischer1945@gmail.com.
    Have a great day
    Rudi

  9. Pingback: More Inspiring Food Allergy, Eczema and Asthma Bloggers | The Food Allergy Chronicles

Leave a Reply

