Discombobulated!

Discombobulated:  vb.  to throw into confusion

Discombobulate kind of sounds like you feel when you’re disoriented: bouncing around in several directions at once.

That is how I am feeling today.  It has been  crazy the last two days.  Yesterday I had my IV and relaxed and read my book followed by having to take my mother to an urgent care to have her hand x-rayed. 

This morning I got up and while I ate made my list (I know there goes the list thing again).  There was a lot on it but things that I could easily get done before this afternoon’s drive to my daughter’s to get my hair cut (hooray).  Suddenly I had volunteered to drive to the eye doctor’s office to pick up my daughter’s contacts and take care of returning my glasses that were hurting my face since I was already there.

I got home and my husband needed me to follow him while he drove our old truck to a place he was going to sell it.  As he was turning into the driveway, he ran out of gas right in the middle of the street.  I immediately turned on my emergency flashers so we wouldn’t both be rear-ended and he frantically found someone to help him push it into the driveway.

Okay so all the non-list items were taken care of and I began to tackle “the list”.  The first thing on it was to phone my LDA doctor’s office to order some supplements.  Then things really fell apart.

When asked by the receptionist taking my order which doctor I saw, I got the news that he was no longer in practice there.  A new number was given for me to call.  I asked, is he going to still be doing LDA?  They didn’t know.  I was told that there was another doctor in the practice that also did LDA and I could see him if I didn’t want to change offices.  CHANGE!  That is a huge issue for me.  I have had my EPD doctor close his office then pass away, then my first LDA doctor closed his office and passed away, now this LDA doctor had moved.  I don’t know what to do.  Do I stay and see the other doctor in an office I can tolerate?  Do I make a 2 1/2 hour trip to my doctor’s new office to see if I am ok there before my next LDA assuming he is still going to do this treatment?  I just don’t know.  I am discombobulated!

As I sit here writing this post, I am staring at my list and suddenly it looks like this big HUGE monster.  The simplest of tasks seems so much more complicated.

Where do I begin?  I think I will look for something that sounds the most relaxing – getting my April and May birthday cards addressed.  The rest? Well it just may have to wait.

13 responses to “Discombobulated!

  1. Ungh… 😦 I know how you feel. I hate going to see strangers [in the medical professions]. I’ve had the same gynaechologist for over 30 years, and the same chiropractor for over 15. Once you find a good professional with whom you can feel comfortable it’s horrible having to change. Hope you get things sorted in a good way.

  2. Kathy:

    Change is difficult for everyone. Take a deep breath in through your nose and then blow out through your mouth while thinking “I let my anxiety go.” Do this a few times with the intention of clearing yourself. Next, look at your list as a friendly tool, not something that controls you. Prioritize so you can just do the “must do” things and leave less important tasks for another. I know you know these techniques, but having someone remind you when you’re in the fray is always helpful.

    Blessings, Jennie

    • Jennie

      Thank you for reminding me. In the midst of the commotion I just get flustered. I decided to take care of only the very urgent items, did an easy and fun item and left the list. I haven’t touched it today choosing instead to spend the day with my mom. I will look at it again tomorrow.

  3. I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! I love your blog and I hope you know you’ve inspired me.

    Thank you Rules:
    *Add The Versatile Blogger award photo on a blog post.
    *Thank the person who presented you with the award and link back to him or her in your post.
    *Share seven things about yourself.
    *Pass the award along to 15 bloggers you have recently discovered.
    *Contact the chosen bloggers to let them know about the award.

    Yours Truly,
    Christine

  4. I hope things have calmed down a bit in time for the weekend! How nice that you keep up a regular practice of sending birthday cards.

    • Still a little unorganized and can’t seem to get a grip on what I should be doing. I met so many amazing women while I was in Dallas and sending birthday cards has been a wonderful way of staying in contact and reminding them that I remember them and appreciate their friendships.

  5. I’m sorry about the doc switch! What a pain. I use the word discombobulated all the time, yet I am SHOCKED to find out it’s actually a word! 😉

    • Rachel

      My therapist used to use this word in Dallas a lot. It has become my word as well. I still don’t know what I am going to do with regard to my LDA doctor. Do I move with him? Do I stay with the practice he was at? I am still deciding. My next LDA isn’t due until around July so I can think about it some.

      The biggest current issue is finding an oral surgeon to remove this darn tooth. Checking out another office on Monday. They use air fresheners too. There are no patients on Monday and I am going to be taken in through the back door directly into a room to see how that works for me. Crossing my fingers and saying a prayer.

Leave a Reply

