May – an awareness month for many

May is National Awareness Month for MCS (multiple chemical sensitivity).  I learned this fact last fall when the Jennifer Parker Foundation was announcing it’s plan for a Walk Across America to raise awareness for MCS.  The walk is scheduled for this coming Friday, May 5th, 2013.  I had signed up with all intentions of organizing a walk in my community. Too many things began to conspire against me doing this (trying to get enough support, the winter weather making meeting with organizations outdoors to begin to raise awareness about this walk and our cause was impossible, and my book progress was lagging behind and I needed to focus everything on it).  Next year I hope they do another one and I can participate.  I am finally feeling human and like I have a brain of sorts.  I hope to do a proper MCS Awareness post soon.  Other bloggers I follow who speak on the topic of chemical sensitivity are:

mcsgal at Sensitive to Chemicals

sonda at sondasmcschatter

miche at The-Labyrinth

The Allergista

Jennie at Jennie Sherwin

 

I also learned today that this is Ehler’s Danlos Awareness Month too through my fellow blogger Katie at Connective Tissue Disorders:  My Journey.  You can read facts about Ehler’s Danos disease fact #1 here.

May is also Celiac Awareness fact that I learned from another fellow blogger Molly at A Sprue Story.  Amanda at Celiac and Allergy Adventures also writes about her adventures with Celiac Disease along with Kim at Gluten Nazi Mom.

I became curious what other mostly Invisible Chronic Illnesses had an awareness day in May and discovered  this is National Toxic Encephalopathy and Chemical Injury Awareness Month (This was part of my diagnosis).  Learn more here.  I had not heard of this organization before but plan to check it out in more detail.

In checking I also learned this is National Asthma Awareness Month and I have received quite a bit of information from The Grateful Foodie on this topic.

It is Lyme Disease Awareness Month.  Christine at Bored Sick suffers from Lyme Disease..   You can also read about it here.

It is Lupus Awareness Month

If anyone reading this post has a blog that addresses any of these topics, please let me know via comment so that I may include them in an update.  If I have left any of you out who follow me, please forgive me.  I will gladly update this post and include you.

I hope all of you will take a few minutes to check out these amazing blogs.

17 responses to “May – an awareness month for many

  1. Kathryn, I know I have been very quiet lately but I have been following your progress, and lack thereof, but now I have a moment to come back to something I mentioned to you a long time ago. Our Google+ Hangout show is doing great. After months and months of faking it, filming and destroying, we finally began our show SlushHeap on the air on Tuesday, April 16, 2013. This next Tuesday, May 7, 2013 at 7:00 pm we will have our third show and I was wondering if you wanted to take part in this show. The show is titled “Book Cover Designs” and I thought about your perseverance right away. If you are interested please get back to me at: SlushHeap@mediacombb.net and I’ll forward all the pertinent information to you. I would really, really love having you on the show.
    Hoping to hear from you soon.
    Rudi

  2. Thank you very much for the mention! 🙂

  3. Reblogged this on Connective Tissue Disorders: My Journey and commented:
    May – a month of awareness!

  4. Thanks for all the info Kathryn!!!! & Thanks for the mention of my blog!!! Education– Education & sharing all the information we can!!!!

  5. Pingback: May – an awareness month for many | allergictolifemybattle | sondasmcschatter

  6. Please excuse me Jennie for not adding your webpage under Chemical Sensitivity. My post has been updated.

  7. Glad you are starting to feel better. Thanks for the link. I am impressed by all the things you work on and accomplish in spite of your less than perfect health.

  8. Thank you Sweetie! I just popped in to introduce you to another blogger whom I’ve given your blog address to also: http://gsgrl2000.wordpress.com Maybe you’ve already come across it? Anyway, it’s good to know we are all coming out in support of one another. Thank you, thank you, thank you. And I will accept my award soon, been way busy. Have something to show you soon. xx Miche

  9. It’s good there are some awareness efforts going on. Fragrances in general, scented laundry products and certain chemicals in paints, stains, household cleaners, etc., are the worst for me. I did a posting back March, and planned to do more.
    http://fergiemoto.wordpress.com/2013/03/05/human-canaries-and-friendship/

Leave a Reply

