Mock Soy Sauce Recipe

I remember years ago when I was first told to avoid fermented products that some mothers in a food allergy group mentioned adding salt to molasses to make a mock soy sauce. I can’t do the vinegar and may have to substitute something for it. I am going to experiment. Thank you for sharing. – For those of you looking for a fermented free soy sauce this might work if you could substitute the vinegar. My usual choice is lemon juice and may try but use less than what is called for to avoid a lemony taste.

lifewithfa

Bingo! This is my answer to substituting soy sauce in recipes. It’s a mock soy sauce recipe using primarily bouillon. I use The Organic Gourmet’s low sodium vegetable bouillon cubes but any bouillon should work.


The Organic Gourmet’s low sodium vegetable bouillon

And, now that my younger son seems to tolerate celery, I can use this for the whole family. Yay. Recipe follows. I used it for a yummy ginger soy pork recipe, which I promise to share later. I’ll be using this mock soy sauce today for beef jerky. Enjoy!

Mock Soy Sauce (Wheat- and Soy-free)

Ingredients

  • 4 cups bouillon (I used 2 cubes, or 18 g, of The Organic Gourmet’s low sodium vegetable bouillon with 4 cups water)
  • 2 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tsp molasses
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • Dash of pepper
  • Dash of onion powder
  • Dash of garlic powder

Method

Mix all ingredients in a saucepan…

View original post 37 more words

4 responses to “Mock Soy Sauce Recipe

  1. We use Bragg’s brand Liquid Aminos all purpose seasonings instead of soy sauce– we even like the flavor better!! 🙂 We buy it at our health food store!!

  2. Our health food store has sample packets of it—-

Leave a Reply

