Mesothelioma Awareness – September 26th

On August 27, 2012 I wrote a post titled Mold Spores, Mycotoxins and Cross Contamination.  In this post a related a commercial here that has run on the television about how family members can be ill from coming in contact with asbestos on the clothes of family members who worked with asbestos.  My post was trying to say that they “get it” in terms of cross contamination with asbestos but the public just doesn’t get the cross contamination of mycotoxins and mold spores just yet.

About a week ago I received an email through the contact portion of my website.  The email was a heartfelt message from a man whose wife is a “rare” Mesothelioma survivor.  He asked not for donations, time, or money but if I would be willing to share his wife story.  September 26th is National Mesothelioma Awareness Day.  I am not able to make changes to my website but offered to share her story here on my blog.  I am aware of the prognosis of someone being diagnosed with Mesothelioma and it is not good.   I am also amazed at those that continue to survive long past the normal diagnosed lifespan.   We have a tenant that has outlived his diagnosis with Methoselioma.

Please watch the video clip of Heather Von St. James.  In the clip she talks about preferring to live with hope.  I talk a lot about survival, courage, and hope.  Heather’s story is definitely one of survival, courage, and hope.

 

2 responses to “Mesothelioma Awareness – September 26th

  1. My blog that will be posted tomorrow is about mesothelioma. Heather’s husband contacted me and I will also be featuring her video. A good article, Kathryn.

    • Thank you Karen. Things have been a little hectic and I was afraid if I didn’t post it, I wouldn’t get it done in time. I look forward to reading your post tomorrow. What an amazing story she has to tell. Not unlike your story of survival.

Leave a Reply

