Catch Up Mondays: Feeling Grateful – revisited

 

 

 

IMG_0500_1

This post was originally shared on December 1, 2012.  I continue to be grateful for all that I have gained as well as the many new people I have met on my journey.  Since publishing Allergic to Life, I have met many more amazing new authors (some who have dealt with illness like I have and are about to share their stories).  We need to be grateful for what we have and to continue to share our stories and bring awareness to those suffering without support.

My Christmas tree is up and decorated.  While I don’t have many other decorations to put out compared to my “old life” when I had decorations everywhere, my tree is up and for that I am grateful.

Many of my environmentally sensitive friends are not so fortunate.  Some of my friends are not able to have such a tree (real or artificial).   My tree is decorated in all metal ornaments with a few resin ornaments to fill in the gaps.   A very dear friend bought an artificial tree seven years ago and still cannot bring it into her house.  Some of my friends are even less fortunate in that they have no safe place to call home.

I am thankful each day for what I have managed to regain since this merry-go-round of illness began thirteen years ago.   While my life is not what it was before, it is better than I ever dared hope for.  There was a time when I didn’t know if I was going to live or die from all the reactions and infections.   I feel deeply for those who have just started this journey and for those who have been on this journey as long as I have and are struggling daily to survive and find the hope and courage they need to carry on.

To the men and women I have met on this journey, I am grateful to call you my friend.  We have shared tears and anger but we have also shared laughter and joy.  Laughter at finding a way to put some humor into our crazy worlds and joy in each new accomplishment and step forward we make.

What are you grateful for?

6 responses to “Catch Up Mondays: Feeling Grateful – revisited

  1. What a beautiful tree. I’m grateful that I’m not bound by depression and darkness this holiday season. Wow, to hum Christmas music and feel joy leaves me filled with wonder. I’m grateful for the precious people and animals that make up my family. And I’m grateful that with new comprehensive health insurance I can see my great therapist, psychiatrist, and rheumatologist again, the latter of whom will help get my RA into remission, lessen the chronic pain, and allow me a much higher quality of life. To help others through writing, sharing, volunteering, working with renewed energy is my mission and I’m grateful that I see that light ahead of me. Peace and Merry Christmas.

  2. I’m grateful that compared to one year ago, my health has improved, my daughter has come to live with me near the ocean, and I’m 2 subjects away from finishing my diploma. And for all the articles I’ve and published this year, 2013; and the very special author interview that has been accepted (but not yet completed) for publication in the next issue of AESSRA’s Sensitivity Matters! 😉

  3. Like your tree! We have a tiny, apartment-sized fake one for my partner, who is Episcopalian. I don’t react to it. I did react to the candles in my menorah several weeks ago, so I had to blow them out after a second (you’re supposed to leave them until they go out by themselves). Good thing I’m agnostic! 🙂
    I like your blog. I just started blogging two weeks ago.

Leave a Reply

