I was doing just fine without my old companion.

I woke up this morning to the all too familiar feeling in my face.  My left eye feels like it is being stabbed with an ice pick and the  searing pain from my eye to my ear to my jaw is back.

My trigeminal neuralgia used to be with me at all times.  It was so bad that I had to take a pain pill just to be able to get out of bed and function.  Sometimes I would make it through the day without one but never could I go to bed without taking one unless I didn’t mind not sleeping.  I wrote a post about this in October 2012.

So what brought on the neuralgia?  I have no idea.  My sinus infection is over unless the horrible air quality we are experiencing (unhealthy for sensitive) triggered something.  I was outside a little yesterday when I met my daughter to give her something she had left here before she headed out-of-town.  Whatever the cause, the neuralgia is here.  My solution:  Taking plenty of magnesium and vitamin C to ease the inflammation.  As I am typing this, it is nearly noon and I am still in my jammies and slippers.  I think that is going to be the way I spend the day.  Here at my desk I am working on paperwork that needs to be finished for the end of the year and sipping plenty of hot tea.

I hope you all are having a relaxing and/or productive day.

13 responses to “I was doing just fine without my old companion.

  1. Kathy: So sorry to hear about the recurrence of trigeminal neuralgia. Rest up. I hope it passes quickly. Blessings, Jennie

  2. Oh no! Sorry to hear this 😦 I hope it lets up soon.

  3. Now you know it saddens me when you’re not feeling your best. I often wonder how such a dear soul as you could be dealing with something as horrid as this. Don’t overdue it, do what you can and when you feel tired, it will still be there tomorrow. Take care of you because you are the only you we have! 🙂 Lots of hugs!

    • Thank you Nonnie. I have been taking time off from sitting here at the desk to sit with my feet up and read a wonderful new book I just learned about, Daydream’s Daughter, Nightmare’s Friend. I am engrossed in it. What will happen next? Guess I need to go back and turn on my Kindle to find out.

  4. KATHRYN—- SOOOOOOOO SORRY TO HEAR THIS— YOU ARE IN MY PRAYERS!!! AND I DO HOPE THIS DECIDES TO LEAVE AS FAST AS IT CAME!!!!!!!! I’M SO SORRY— LOVE YA!!!

  5. That sounds horribly painful! I really hope you get some relief pronto.

  6. Take the rest of the year off and get better.

  7. Sometimes you can do everything right but flares just happen. I’ve been pain free for a good stint, then over the weekend it just hit me hard and I can’t figure out why. I guess if you could get rid of it they’d call it “curable.” I hope your day of resting helped! ❤

Leave a Reply

