What will you be avoiding today – January 1, 2014?

I posted this for the first time last January 1st.  My followers have grown and I am curious what traditions or rituals you all participate in on New Year’s Day.  For the past seven years friends of our would come here, suit up, and we would eat dinner together and then play games until the midnight hour.  This New Year’s eve is going to be different.  Our friends are on a trip with their family and so our usual New Year’s Eve festivities is not happening.  Our evening will be a quiet one and we will play a few games (like pulling teeth for my husband), watch a movie and probably fall asleep way before midnight.

My mother always said that what you do on New Year’s day, you will be doing all year-long. Hence, you didn’t want to do something that you wouldn’t want to be doing all year-long. So I say to my pile of ironing on the ironing board, “NOT TODAY!”  Instead I am going to enjoy a day with family and maybe do a little writing (to set the stage for the year).

We also believe, like the southerners, that black eye peas bring good luck. So I will be eating my share of them today. It may not work, but why test fate?

As I thought of these two superstitions this morning I searched and was surprised to find there were so many that I had never heard of. Here are a few of what I found:

Wear new clothes.  According to the superstition this would ensure receiving more new clothes throughout the year.  I have a new sweatshirt so may try and remember to wear it for some of the day.

Avoid crying.  Avoid this if you don’t want to continue the pattern. That means no sad movies.

Never let money leave the house.  I am guessing that this is to prevent being poor in the new year.  The bills sitting here on my desk will have to wait a day or two.

Dance in the open air.  To dance in the open air, especially around a tree, on New Year’s day supposedly insures luck in love and prosperity.  It also insures freedom from ill-health during the coming twelve months.  (I have never heard of this one, but you may find me dancing outside sometime today around the tree in my front yard).  I was going to try this last year and completely forgot.  It is on my list to do.  After all who can’t use freedom from ill-health.

Full cupboards.  It is believed that cupboards stacked full with food, wallets and purses filled with money bring in prosperity.  My cupboards are stacked enough and if I don’t spend any money there is some in my purse and wallet.

So what superstitions have you been raised with regarding ringing in the New Year?  What will you be doing/avoiding today?

Happy 2013 to you all and I will be back with my regular posts and topics very soon.

Leave a Reply

