So, What’s Cooking?

What is that smell  aroma throughout my home?  Could it be?  Dare it be?  Yes, it is the overwhelming smell aroma of lamb cooking.  Lamb in a pot for stew, lamb fat being rendered down to use when cooking my potatoes and ground lamb patties in the morning.  Yes, I am prepping for my LDA (low dose antigen therapy) treatment.  Tomorrow starts Day 1 of my three critical days.  What’s on the menu for those days?

DAY 1

Breakfast:  Ground Lamb Patty &  Organic Potatoes fried in none other than rendered lamb fat.

Lunch:  Lamb stew and a glass of cold sparkling water.

Dinner:  Lamb stew and a glass of cold sparkling water.

Snacks:  More Lamb Stew or a naked baked potato or sweet potato.

DAY 2 

(Repeat Day 1)

DAY 3

(Repeat Day 1 & 2)

WARNING! THE PICTURES YOU ARE ABOUT TO SEE MAY BE TOO MUCH FOR THE VEGETARIAN OR VEGETARIAN AT HEART. THERE WILL BE PICTURES OF MEAT, MORE MEAT, AND MEAT FAT.  THERE WILL, HOWEVER, BE A PICTURE OF VEGETABLES.

Step 1 – Get the lamb roast on a cutting board and prepped for cutting into cubes.

Lamb Roast

Lamb Roast

Step 2 – Cube lamb roast and place in large Dutch Oven.

Cubed Lamb Roast

Cubed Lamb Roast

Step 3 – Place fatty pieces in skillet to render down into fat to be used for frying potatoes and ground lamb during breakfast meals.

Fatty Lamb Pieces

Fatty Lamb Pieces

Cooked Lamb and rendered Lamb Fat

Cooked Lamb and rendered Lamb Fat

Step 4 – Cut up potatoes, sweet potatoes, carrots, celery, and cabbage.

Cut up veggies.

Cut up veggies.

This is what the final project should look like.

Dinner is ready!

Dinner is ready!

Tomorrow I will post a picture of my wonderful lamb breakfast of a ground lamb patty, potatoes, and a glass of water.

18 responses to “So, What’s Cooking?

  1. :WARNING! THE PICTURES YOU ARE ABOUT TO SEE MAY BE TOO MUCH FOR THE VEGETARIAN OR VEGETARIAN AT HEART. THERE WILL BE PICTURES OF MEAT, MORE MEAT, AND MEAT FAT. THERE WILL, HOWEVER, BE A PICTURE OF VEGETABLES.” THANKS FOR THE WARNING SIS!!!!! 🙂 HOPE YOU ENJOY!!!!! LOVE YA!!!

  2. Shirley L. Slaughter

    So the lamb is the only food that’s safe for you? I get it. Makes me wonder about the other meats we eat. Every meat I consume is organic in my house. I’m a proactive eater.

    • Lamb is one of the only foods allowed during the three-day critical period of my shots. It or venison and some white fish are also okay. They are the foods that don’t interfere with the food component of the treatment. Organic is the best way to go.

  3. I love love love lamb. This dish looks so good I might make it. Perfect for a winter day. Only I don’t own that one home essential: a crockpot (though, by definition, I guess it’s not that essential in my home because I don’t have one, but digressing).

    Great post. Stopped by via IU blogfest.

  4. It looks really good –

  5. Wish I was closer, I would stop by for dinner, then stop by the rest of the time to hold your hand and to be your cheerleader to get you through this process. Enjoy the lamb!

  6. This reminds me of when I was on a 3 week rotation diet. Well I was supposed to keep doing it, I made it 3 weeks. When I looked at the list for the day and took off things I was allergic to and then the stuff that didn’t work well with my low blood sugar — well let’s just say I got real cranky by the end. I hope all goes well. The stew does look yummy. 😀

  7. Pingback: Critical Day 1: LDA | allergictolifemybattle

  8. Pingback: Critical Day 3: The aftermath | allergictolifemybattle

  9. Reblogged this on allergictolifemybattle and commented:

    Yes, the aroma of lamb permeates my house. It must be LDA (low dose antigen) time. Today is day 1 of my 3 critical days. It has been 7 months since my last treatment; far longer than I had planned. Originally I was aiming for May and postponed it until June. I cancelled June when my father passed and am now finally doing it. Because it has been so long, I am not sure how my body will react this go round. I get my shots tomorrow and will share with you then how it went.

  10. Hi, Kathy: Good luck with the LDA diet. Of course, I’m familiar with it because Roger did LDA with Dr. Shrader. Have you ever cooked with rhubarb? I used to make a rhubarb drink for Roger when he was on the LDA diet. He said it reminded him of lemonade. I think I got the recipe from Dr. Shrader’s website. Good luck!

  11. Hi Jennie: I still haven’t tried rhubarb. I need to try it when I am not preparing for my LDA to make sure I am okay with it. My lamb stew is about ready. Good thing because it is almost lunch time and I am getting hungry.

Leave a Reply

