What’s in My MCS Emergency Kit?

Not too long ago I read a post about having an MCS Emergency Kit.  The link was posted on sondasmcschatter.  The link connected me with myhealthmaven.

The topic of the post intrigued me so I took a look.  It made me think about what I have as an emergency kit.  I flagged the post and decided I would write more on it at another time.

The hints were to always check your emergency kit to make sure it has everything, to keep a note in your wallet or purse about your illness and reactions (I use a Medic Alert bracelet.), to have an emergency list of contacts (in my cell phone and through Medic Alert), and to be sure all these items are accessible.

What’s in My Emergency Kit

A TYVEK SUIT  (to use if a building I need to enter is suspect or if I accidentally get exposed I can cover my clothes until I can get home and remove them in the garage).  The site listed a change of clothes.  Once I have been exposed trying to find a safe place to change those clothes or to have the clarity is not always possible.  It is much easier to throw on the suit.

LARGE BLACK GARBAGE BAGS to put items in that may have been contaminated  (which once was my purse and shoes because I couldn’t cover them with a  tyvek suit).   They are also great for my passenger’s items that need to go with them.

SMALL GARBAGE BAGS for items that need to be covered to protect me but are too small to use the larger bags.  Once a garbage bag came in handy to cover my daughter’s hair.

MASK – I carry one in my purse but usually have a spare one in the console compartment.  I have been known to use my mask, stick it in a pocket of my jeans and forget to take it out until doing laundry.  I have gone to a store only to have to turn around and go home and get my mask or sit in the car and let someone else go in for me.

HISTAMINE – I carry a pouch in my purse with a vial of histamine, syringes, and an ice pack to keep it cool.

EPI-PEN – The histamine usually is all I need for a bad a reaction but the epi-pen is my back up just in case.

VITAMIN C – I usually have some in my purse but try to keep a small bottle in the car just in case.

ALBUTEROL INHALER – Sometimes the coughing becomes so bad that I need a little extra help with my lungs.

WATER – I keep a glass bottle of water with me at all times.  I use Mountain Valley Spring Water in glass.

The site also mentioned what to do after an exposure.

CLOTHES – I come home, remove my clothes, and put them in the washer with baking soda, my safe laundry detergent and sometimes powdered milk.  I let them soak for a while and then wash.  If I also had on a tyvek suit, it needs to be tossed in the garbage.

SHOWER – I shower to remove as much as I can from my skin and hair.

REST –  I also have learned that eating often helps get the metabolism going and help eliminate things from my system faster.

SUPPORT – If the reaction is very bad, I schedule an appointment with my acupuncturist and also try to schedule an IV of Vitamin C, Glutathione, and Magnesium.

I would like to thank my healthmaven for writing on this subject and sondasmcschatter for sharing it.

WHAT’S IN YOUR MCS EMERGENCY KIT?  

11 responses to “What’s in My MCS Emergency Kit?

  1. I have my mask with me always and Benedryl in case my throat starts to close off. I have to admit I know I need to have a medic-alert bracelet but I never have. I do find if I have a reaction increasing my water intake seems to help speed my recovery time.

    • I discovered in the hospital during a reaction to an antibiotic, that I was also allergic to the Benadryl they were giving me to counteract the reaction. The first time they put it in my IV tube, my legs felt warm and burned. The second time, my entire brain felt like it was on fire and the burning continued down through my entire body.

  2. Reblogged this on sondasmcschatter and commented:
    THANKS FOR SHARING KATHRYN— I NEED TO MAKE A LIST OF WHAT IS IN MY MCS EMERGENCY KIT ALSO & SHARE!!

  3. Have everything but the suit

  4. That’s scary. Benedryl has literally saved my life multiple times. I’m not sure what I would have done without it. Luckily my throat hasn’t closed off for many months. When I was working it was occurring frequently when I tried to eat. I was afraid to eat. I’m still leery sometimes.

  5. I printed off some MCS hospital protocols, as well as some more personal medical info, and carry them in a file folder in my backpack whenever I go anywhere. I used to carry my ceramic oxygen mask and tygon tubing with me too, in case someone had a tank of oxygen around at a time of need… I carry an old vitamin container full of baking soda in case I need to wash my hands, and some safe toilet paper and paper towels… I’ve run out, but I never used to leave home without a bottle filled with water and my tri-salt mixture. I don’t leave anything IN the car (except a tyvek suit and some mylar sheets) because the heat from the sun can destroy the contents… or freeze and break the bottle of water I had for cleaning. 😦
    I probably used to carry more, but I don’t go anywhere except 5 minutes away once a month now, so I don’t pack as much…

  6. Wow, that’s quite the emergency kit! I feel like I’m learning so much about MCS and the precautions and inconveniences that I couldn’t even otherwise imagine from your blog tonight.
    It sounds like a pretty harsh way to have to live and my heart goes out to you for it. You’re such a strong person!
    xxx

Leave a Reply

