Getting Stung By a BEE was not on my agenda today.

I went to my mother’s to pick up something and while we stood in her driveway talking, I felt something sting me.  I looked down and a bee was stinging the top of my hand.  I shook my hand and then had to pull out the stinger.

I rushed home (thank goodness we only live about five minutes from her) and took a histamine shot and 1600 mg. of vitamin C and put ice on my hand.  My throat feels tight and swollen.  I can still take more histamine and have an epi-pen if I absolutely need it although it has been years since I used an epi-pen and don’t even know how I will react to it.  I will keep you updated.

21 responses to “Getting Stung By a BEE was not on my agenda today.

  1. I hope the histamine works. Good luck.

  2. Princessandthepea

    Oh nooooo! So sorry to hear that hope the reaction settles and no epi required!! Can you take Benadryl or septnhing like that or is the histamine shot in lieu of antihistamine medication?

  3. Oh my gosh Kathryn, please do let us know how you are enduring this bee ordeal.
    Pattimari

  4. KATHRYN— I USE A PASTE OF BAKING SODA & WATER MIXTURE ON ANY BEE STING TO PULL OUT THE POISON -AS A MATTER OF FACT ANY INSECT BITE–& — EVEN THROUGH IT HAS BEEN A WHILE SINCE YOU GOT THE STING YOU MIGHT WANT TO TRY THAT— LOVE YA & HOPE YOU ARE FEELING BETTER– I USUALLY DON’T HAVE A GOOD REACTION FROM BEE STINGS EITHER!!!

  5. Kathy: I hope you are feeling better. Jennie

  6. That’s awful – of all things to happen to you! I hope you’re feeling better now.

  7. Sorry Kathyrn like you need any more issues. Sonda is right the baking soda paste works well to draw out the poison and ease the pain. My cat got stung on the bottom of her paw one time — I have to admit its a tough go convincing a cat to have a wet paste stuck on her paw. 😀 Hope you fell better soon.

  8. Sorry about the bee sting. I hope you’re doing better now.
    Mega doses of vitamin C at one whack are not beneficial. It would have worked better to take 500mg, wait an hour take another 500, waiting one hour in between to take another dose, until you reached 1500, or even 2,000mg. Your body uses roughly 300 mg then pees the rest out within 2-3 hours. Most likely, all you got out of that single whopping 1600mg was 300-400. I attended an inservice on alternative medicine given by an MD. I didn’t expect much since most doctors are not taught about vitamins. This doctor attended a seminar which gave her a lot more info than normal. Vitamin C is one vitamin that your body does not manufacture or store.
    You should be taking 1000 mg on a daily basis (AM & PM) because of your sensitivities. It will keep your immune system humming along better.
    I use Nutrilite brand. They have a time-released C made from acerola cherries, which are more potent than the regular ascorbic acid. I don’t know if there are any ingredients that would be a problem for you. If you’re interested, you can check out my website: http://www.amway.com/connieterpack
    (Of course, I’ll give you a discount.)

    • I use Vitamin C by Pure Encapsulations and one from my doctor’s office. I am allergic to cherries so not sure if I could use them. I will check out the ingredients though.

      This was what I was told years ago by a doctor. I will ask my new LDA doctor, a naturopath. Tomorrow I am getting a Vitamin C IV which works so much better because it bypasses the stomach.

  9. Ugh I’ve always been so terrified of bee stings. Last summer my little cousin was stung and I had to pull out the stinger – which is the part that really scares me, I hate things in skin! But I did it and felt like an absolute hero. I hope you’re handling it with as much grace – the comment section sounds like it never got too too bad.

Leave a Reply

