Denial, or Why I Ate That Damn Pizza

Oh that evil sidekick “Denial”. I am sharing Amy’s story because we all have those voices inside our head trying to get us to do what we shouldn’t or to skim over the list of ingredients. Thank you Amy.

Adventures of an Allergic Foodie

I never eat something I know I shouldn’t.

This, folks, is called being in denial. Denial is when you pretend something that happened didn’t really happen.

Since my gut sprang a leak–make that lots of leaks–and I developed food allergies to many, many foods, I have sometimes been in denial. Okay, the truth is I was in denial a lot after I was diagnosed.

I do not have celiac disease and allergies; it’s just a little indigestion.

The lab must have gotten my blood mixed up with someone else’s– I CANNOT be allergic to that many foods!

I am not allergic to corn. I am not allergic to corn. I am not allergic to corn.

I can eat a tiny bit of soy.

When the little voice in my  head made these statements, I believed them to be real–as real as the pain in my gut.

Denial runs in my…

View original post 520 more words

Leave a Reply

