Why He’ll Never Suggest Lettuce for Lunch Again

Oh Amy I so understand your FRUSTRATION! Been there, done that. It isn’t fun having someone be able to eat while whatever is there whether it is in a restaurant or at a get together and there you are eating your own food. During Easter weekend I had salad with chicken, kidney beans, and sliced egg two days in a row while my husband ate whatever he wanted to eat. I am sharing this post on my blog for all those who suffer with food allergies.

Adventures of an Allergic Foodie

We’d been driving for a day and a half and were only halfway home. The high winds across the Kansas plains and the oversized trucks creeping into our lane forced my husband to keep a hands-of-steel grip on the wheel while I kept eyeing the sky for a tornado.

An Allergic Foodie and her husband don't always agree on where to eat

We were a little on edge.

And we were hungry.

When we finally decided to stop for lunch, we began quarreling. For us, quarreling involves a lot of silence.

Husband-Who-Can-Eat-Everything wanted to stop at Taco John’s. With my soy, dairy, gluten, and corn allergies, I didn’t even want to breathe the air in Taco John’s.

Besides, Husband-Who-Can-Eat-Everything knew I wasn’t looking forward to the three-day-old tuna and garbanzo beans I’d packed for myself. He knew this because I kept opening all the apps on my iPhone–Allergy Eats, Find Me Gluten Free, YoDish–and reading the reviews.

Still, he…

View original post 403 more words

One response to “Why He’ll Never Suggest Lettuce for Lunch Again

  1. i DON’T EAT MEAT– SUGAR OR GLUTEN OR ANYTHING WITH TOXIC CHEMICALS TRY TO STAY AWAY FROM GMO’S & ALSO TRY TO EAT ORGANIC– OR CHEMICAL FREE–& JUST PALIN CAN’T EAT SO MANY OTHER FOODS & SOME DAYS– IT IS A CHORE TO JUST FIX SOMETHING TO EAT!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

