Catch-Up Mondays: Life is What Happens – Revisited

This was originally posted on February 19, 2013.  I have often used the term I would have done it but life got in the way.  How many of you have had life get in your way and drastically alter your plans?  We can either become a victim or a survivor.  I choose to be a survivor!  How about you?

I was reading a book (one of my mystery books by Tami Hoag). As I was reading, I came upon this sentence:  Life is what happens when we’re making other plans.

This pretty much sums up my life.  I was busy making other plans – starting back to work, my daughters were finishing high school and I was looking forward to summers doing fun things and the possibility of traveling with my husband.  Then “life” happened and my life turned upside down.  I became ill, work eventually ended and the possibility of traveling suspended.

We always thought there would be plenty of time to take those trips.  The girls would be grown, we would be closer to retirement, and would have the time and hopefully the income to do those things.  Looking back I wish we hadn’t put so many things off until later.   Many of those things are now lost but I can focus on what we can still do – day trips to the beach, trips to the mountains, any where we can go in a day.  If the day is nice and sunny and I am feeling well, I want to go, go, go.

I am sure many of you can say the same thing.  We were busy making plans and life suddenly changed all that.  Illness struck and changed everything without warning.

My words to my daughters is to enjoy life.  Make plans but don’t postpone doing things; the things you love and want to do.  There is no time like the present because who knows what the future holds.

 

9 responses to “Catch-Up Mondays: Life is What Happens – Revisited

  1. You’re so right, Kathy. Living in the moment is what all of us need to do. It helps us to be present to the beauty around us in the simple everyday things. Thanks for the reminder. Jennie

  2. This post “speaks” to me so deeply. I now tell my son the same thing.

  3. Ditto to the whole post. I had made many plans that I was about to implement when MCS disability changed everything. I think Go. Go. Go. should be everyone’s motto. 😀

  4. Reblogged this on sondasmcschatter and commented:
    AMEN!!! AMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. We know this all too well. The work injuries change a life overnight.

Leave a Reply

