Items That Contain Nickel

Can you imagine avoid nickel when it is in all these things?

The Allergista

My keychain. I put my house keys as far away from the other keys as possible since they contain nickel. My keychain. I put my house keys as far away from the other keys as possible since they contain nickel.

Oooooh good ol’ nickel. Nickel is my nemesis. My doctor described the severity of my nickel allergy as the same type of reaction one would have to poison ivy. He said, “So, if you had poison ivy in your yard, you’d do everything you could to remove it, right?” And I said, “Yup”. He said, “Well, that’s what you have to do with nickel“.

Awesome, right? Not so much.

Too bad nickel is eeeeeverywhere. It’s used in hardware because it’s not very expensive and nickel inhibits rust. Luckily there are such things as nickel testing kits so at least you’ll know if your everyday environments (home and work, etc) are safe. Typically nickel is silver in color, but it’s also found in alloys of brass, iron, stainless steel…

View original post 117 more words

2 responses to “Items That Contain Nickel

  1. [This is the post I left at the other site]

    Hi Kathryn
    If your list wasn’t bad enough. Here are a couple more items: [Hope I haven’t repeated anything:

    Brass Fixtures
    Cello Strings
    Chrome Fixtures
    Fasteners
    Hair Pins
    Hand Tools
    Hand Bag Clutches
    Jean Studs
    Metal Buttons and Snaps
    Metal Items at Work
    Musical Instruments [Keys, Mouthpieces]
    Tuners

Leave a Reply

