Update on Me.

Hello Everyone,

I only have a minute but am updating you on what has been happening.

I am home from spending four days and nights at the hospital with my mom, dad, and sister. My daughters and husband have been there when they could.

My sister and I had just decided to take turns taking mom to the hospital so the other one could rest. Sunday was her turn. I slept in and took care of paper work, etc. Around 11:30 she called to say they were moving dad back to ICU from the AMCU unit. My husband and I immediately drove to Modesto. By 5:00 p.m. dad was doing better and breathing okay. Mom and my sister left at around 7 pm. At 9:30 mom, my sister and I were off to the hospital again because dad’s breathing had worsened. By the time we arrived they had him on a bi-pap machine doing his breathing for him.

Monday we decided we couldn’t do this to dad and had it removed choosing to put him on comfort care with only morphine to make him comfortable. After four days of no sleep and only the clothes we had on Sunday, we signed dad up for Hospice House  where he will be transported tomorrow morning.

We convinced mom to come home, shower, and sleep in her own bed while we did the same. We will take her tomorrow morning and she can stay in the room with dad and sleep on a cot while he is there.

Please keep us in your prayers. I hope this makes sense after no sleep for days and stress.  I don’t know when I will be able to reply to comments.  Our life is going to be very difficult for a while as we transition into life without my dad.

36 responses to “Update on Me.

  1. Reblogged this on sondasmcschatter and commented:
    LOVE TO YOU KATHRYN & OF COARSE MORE PRAYERS!!!!!!!!!!!! I KNOW WHERE YOU ARE COMING FROM— TRY TO TAKE THE BEST CARE OF YOURSELF POSSIBLE!!! HUGS & KNOW YOU & YOUR FAMILY ARE IN MANY OF YOUR MCS SISTERS PRAYERS!!!!!!! I AM TRUSTING GOD TO MEET ALL OF YOUR NEEDS!!!!!!!!

  2. So sorry to hear how things are transpiring. It is so difficult watching our parents slip away. Praying for you and your whole family in this difficult season.

    Blessings

    Deb

    >

  3. That is just awful. I am so sorry

  4. Kathryn please know that you and your family are in my prayers. I know from my own dad’s passing that the pain and grief for a time can be intense. But I hope when there is a little light around the edges of the pain — that you will know that you will never be without your father. His love will always be in your heart. His features will be reflected back to you in your own image. His quirks and nuances will live on in your children. And most importantly his Spirit will never leave you. When the pain and exhaustion and stress subside — there will be moment when you’ll feel the peaceful presence of your dad. Much love to you and your family.

    • Colleen, Thank you for your words. As my sister and I sat by dad’s bed today, we talked about funny stories of times with dad. I am weary. Mom stayed with dad tonight and I hope that she does well and my sister and I can sleep before making the 45 minute drive back to be with her and dad in the morning. I am just tying up some loose ends and then putting jammies on and heading to bed soon.

  5. Sending you good thoughts. Stay strong.

  6. Kathryn, I’m sorry to hear about all that your dad is going through. It’s great that you can be there for both him and your mum but make sure you are looking after yourself too! I hope things will improve for him or at the very least that he may have the comfort he needs. My prayers are with you! Hugs!

    • Thank you Leisl. It is hard to look after myself even though I know all these exposures are not good for me. My sister cannot do this alone and our poor momma needs us now. I am trying to get more rest. I have a bruise on my forehead just at the hairline. I told my sister this yesterday and she said it was because I dozed off at dad’s bedside and slept for about an hour with my forehead on the bed rail.

      • Well that tells you something about how much rest you are in need of! teehee! Your sister and your momma are very lucky to have you there… I think you are a very strong women… perhaps even stronger than you think!

  7. macnroxie@comcast.net

    was thinking about yesterday and hoped all was well. I’m sorry about your dad and hope he gets better, will continue to say prays for him and you. don’t get to tired and take care of yourself.

  8. MUCH love to you and your family!

  9. Kathryn, I am so sorry you have to go through such a difficult thing. I truly know because I too lost my father and sat with my mom until she made it past the loss, allowing my own to be put on hold until she saw the light at the other end of the tunnel – only then did I allow myself to face the loss, but you know what? He still comes and visits me in my dreams. It is like he was when he was with us.
    Know that I am here dear friend, and if you need a shoulder to cry on, I’ll make sure there are no perfumes or lotions that will disturb you so you can release your pain.
    Love,
    Pattimari and Peter

  10. My thoughts and prayers continue for all of you at this very difficult time, Kathryn. XO

  11. My prayers and hugs are with you and your family.

    • Thank you Karen. My sister and I convinced my mom to go home and sleep last night in her own bed. I brought her home and my sister stayed the night with dad. I am heading up with mom shortly so my sister can get away and get some rest.

  12. Your family is in my prayers.

  13. Ugh. There are no words 😦 *internet hug*

  14. Sorry, I’m just reading this today, but I will still keep you all in my prayers.

  15. Your father is lucky to have you all with him ❤
    Sending prayers and love for you all

  16. You’re in my thoughts and prayers, Kathryn.

  17. Lord, continue to strengthen the famil; give mom rest and comfort in you to take care of her husband; give strength to the children, who love and adore their father; guard their hearts, renew their memories, prepare theirinds. In the name of Jesus Christ I pray. Amen.

  18. Recently went through similar ordeal with my husband’s grandfather – never easy. I’ll keep you in my prayers, friend.

Leave a Reply

