Letting go is so hard to do.

Being with my daddy in his final hours was the hardest thing I have ever had to do.  I am glad for the opportunity to sit by his side, hold his hand, stroke his face and tell him how much I loved him.

Daddy passed yesterday evening with momma, my sister, and I right by his side.  I am faced now with final preparations, comforting my momma and my sister, and trying to move forward.  I will be back when I can.  I want to write a post honoring this wonderful and brave man but it will have to wait for a bit.

I will pop in when I can but the next little while will be spent helping momma process that the love of her life for 60 years is gone and won’t be coming back.  Our lives will never be the same but we have to move forward and grieve and begin to heal.

Thank you all for your continued prayers and kind words.

32 responses to “Letting go is so hard to do.

  1. LOVE YA— YOU ALWAYS HAVE MY PRAYERS– & MY SYMPATHY ON THE LOSS OF YOUR DAD!!!! REMINDER–PLEASE TAKE CARE OF YOUR SELF– WHILE BEING A CARE GIVER!!!!

  2. My prayers are with you and your family. Take care of yourself.

  3. My thoughts and prayers are with you during this difficult time. Remember to take care of yourself also. Love and blessings.

  4. I am so incredibly sorry for your loss and am sending gentle, loving, healing thoughts to you and your family.

  5. You and your family remain in my prayers. It is always hard to say goodbye to those we so love. “Today, sad tears are in your eyes, but look about for each bright ray of sunshine: Cherish them, for in the days ahead they will light your path.”

  6. I am so sorry Kathy. I wish there was some way i could help. I can not say i know how you feel, because i have not been dealt with this yet and i dread the day i do. I just want you to know that I am thinking about you and my heart hurts so much for you and your family. I hate to call because i know you are either busy with the family or sleeping, If you need anything, or just need a shoulder to cry on please call. You have been there for me, and i want to be there for you as well. Your my dear friend and i love you. Please take care of yourself.

  7. My dad passed when I was little but I remember the first time I felt happy after the funeral. At first I felt guilty and then a thought flashed through my head, would Dad want me to be happy or sad? There was no doubt of the answer. When the glimmers of joy sneak back in amidst the grief — no your dad is helping you embrace all he wants or ever wanted for you.

  8. I am so sorry. Families and relationships are what life is all about. No one can take the love, feelings and memories away from you. Take care of yourself and your mother. You are in my prayers.

    • Thank you MCS Gal. We are taking it a day at a time. I am so overloaded from exposure after exposure after exposure. I am trying to drink plenty of water and rest when I can. We have had so many days of no sleep. We were kind of joking at the hospital. We were there four straight days and nights with the same clothes and no sleep. My sister asked if she should wear her jacket over her shirt or around her waist to make it look different.

      • You know you are doing okay when you still have a sense of humor even when things are difficult.

        I’m glad you are taking care of yourself and allowing yourself to recover from the exposures.

      • MCS Gal

        I have been home all day. I do have one errand that I need to make later but plan on staying safe for a bit to get my body to calm down. I have aches (my wrists hurt, my fingers hurt, etc.). I am sure all of you know what it is like when the exposures have been too great for far too long. I learned early on with this illness that a sense of humor can get you through most anything.

  9. Kathryn, you are one strong lady whom we totally respect and admire. You are a very good daughter and sister to hold those close to you during the passing. We’re impressed.
    If you need us to do anything for you during this time, please do call upon us – for we will come running. Anything! We are only a few miles away.
    We love you honey,
    Peter & Pattimari Cacciolfi

  10. Sending you waves of comfort and strength, for you and your mother too.
    this is a tough, tough thing to go through.

    • Cynthia

      Thank you very much. We are going to have waves of emotion. I seem to be better during the day and when the evening comes and there is less to pre-occupy my thoughts it becomes difficult. It still does not seem real.

  11. Dearest Kathryn,
    My thoughts and prayers continue for you and your family. I know how hard it must me losing your dad. So glad that you could all be there with him, but that doesn’t begin to ease the burden of such a dear one gone. I am sure that you are the strength that your mom has to hold onto right now. Thinking of you all.
    XO
    Bette

  12. So sorry for your loss. It means a great deal in the long run that you were able to be by his side in the final hours. Your Mom will definitely need you in the coming months to help with arrangements, paper work, and many other small details that will need to be taken care of. Hang in there. I have you in my thoughts and prayers. Thinking of all of you.

    Hugs,
    Cynthia

    • Thank you Cynthia. I am finding that during the day I am doing okay but at night when I am too tired to do things and keep my mind busy things fall apart. I have a project that I had just started working on before my dad’s fall. I am going to email you in the next week and ask for your help.

  13. I’m so sorry for your loss, Kathryn. You’re in my thoughts and prayers.

  14. I’m so sorry for your loss, Kathryn. You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers each and every day. Big ((Hugs)) from across the miles. xoxo

  15. Just to let you know, you’re still in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

