Black and Blue From Head to Toe

Well almost from head to toe. At least not on my face. The added benefit  downside of taking Warfarin is that it truly thins the blood.  I am getting bruises where I never thought I would get a bruise.  I have bruises on my wrists, on the back of my arms, on my stomach and sides, and on the top of my feet.

I have these little bruises all over my body.

I have these little bruises all over my body.

I woke up to find this bruise two days ago. It is on the inside of my leg.

I woke up to find this bruise two days ago. It is on the inside of my leg.

I have no idea how I got this bruise on the top of my foot.

I have no idea how I got this bruise on the top of my foot.

I met yesterday with my hematologist. She had a long conversation with the radiologist. They believe it is a chronic thrombosis most likely from when I was spending so much time sitting back in May and June. However, since they cannot rule out an acute thrombosis, I am on Warfarin until just before Christmas. I asked about the bruises and she just said that it was the downside of the Warfarin. Every time I turn around there is a new bruise that I am discovering.

In six months I will have an other ultrasound done on my leg and meet with the doctor so there is a record in case I have another issue of swelling. I am still dealing with swelling of my ankle and calf.  I need to order a compression stocking to see if it will help.  Has any one had experience with compression stockings? I have found one version (a trouser sock) that does not have latex in it. I still don’t know if I will be able to tolerate the trouser sock.  I guess I will find out when I get it.

19 responses to “Black and Blue From Head to Toe

  1. LOVE YA– KATHRYN— SO SORRY YOU ARE GOING THROUGH ALL OF THIS– MCS IS BAD ENOUGH WITH OUT EVERYTHING ON TOP OF IT!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. macnroxie@comcast.net

    Sorry this is taking so long to get over, I hope your improving everyday. Mac is home for a few days 2 surgery’s down 1 to go I hope he just got home today had to crawl up the stairs bed ridden 6 days no moving now 30 minutes sitting up and then rest can’t go anywhere wears a waist strap so in case he falls we can grab him before he hits the floor. This is not a ordeal I want to ever go thru again they can take care of the patients but not the family and can’t warn you about the raw emotions and anger you feel 8 hours in surgery . harder than giving birth and the people waiting for their family members to all hours of the night to hear if they pulled through or not. I’ll send a photo of before and after it’s a topic besides breast cancer that people shouldn’t ignore. I haven’t been to fun to be around forgive me.  

  3. Damn…..as if you didn’t have enough to contend with. But…forgive my gruesome sense of humour but you could now play a very convincing zombie without all that SFX paint. 😀
    -huge hugs-
    Hope the upside of the Wayfarin is that you’re feeling a little better?
    Btw I was thinking – instead of compression socks, what about just using say a pure cotton bandage and wrapping it around your feet and legs? You’d just have to be careful not to do it too tight as cotton won’t ‘give’.

  4. Oh my goodness! My prayers are that all this will be behind you SOON. Compressions stockings are excellent and I would recommend them, but I do not know if they have them with materials you are not allergic to. Take care and know we are all praying for you.

  5. I’ve been wearing compression hose for several years. The latex hasn’t bothered me, and the hose helps keep the swelling in check. I hope you can tolerate them

  6. Shirley Harris-Slaughter

    Kathryn, if you can, try getting a colon cleanse. Your bruises can come from poor digestion absorption and/or drugs. So a good cleanse will help your body clean itself and recover.

  7. Yikes! I hope it clears up soon and that you find some relief. Heal fast, friend!

  8. I hope the socks work and that pretty soon you can get off the Warfarin and this will just be a memory rather than an ongoing struggle and headache.

  9. Seriously woman. Consider yourself cyber-hugged. When you get this resolved — no more issues for you. ❤

Leave a Reply

