Many who have walked this same walk have often asked themselves: Who Am I? This illness not only robs us of our ability to participate in our old lives and do what we did before, it robs us of our identities. I hope you are all doing well and preparing for 2013.

allergictolifemybattle

We all define ourselves by who we are and what we do.  Our lives revolve around these roles.  We are teachers, parents, bankers, lawyers and nurses. 

For years I defined myself by what I was.  I was a daughter, sister, wife, mother and friend.  I also defined myself by what I did.  I was a friend, PTA president, Booster Club Member, School Board Member, 4-H Leader, Band Mother, Room Mother and Secretary.  I was someone who loved gardening, loved to cook and bake and loved to sew. I loved to take my daughters shopping and I loved to lunch with friends.

What happens when we suddenly lose the ability to be what gives us our identity?  What happens when what we did that defined our lives is no longer there?  Do we suddenly become something else?  Do we move on or do we give up?

When I no longer was able to…

View original post 398 more words

One response to “

  1. Yes, that is exactly how I have felt too these past 4 years….expect it will take the rest of my life to find myself again since so much of my former life was lost…but God had HIS reasons for allowing parts of me to be lost, so I have learned to take it a day at a time now….trusting HIM to put me back together better for having gone through the “mold wars”……

Leave a Reply

