Rotation Diet

The rotation diet was one of the first things I learned when testing for and battling with food allergies.  It was very hard for me to figure out in the beginning because I was so deeply sick and dealing with impaired memory.  The rotation diet operates on not eating the same food more often than every four days or a food in the same food family more often than every two days.  

An example of a food family is:  peas, beans, peanuts, chick peas, etc.  One obstacle was that so many foods were in the same family.  The hardest part for me besides trying to figure it out was that as soon as I would get a menu planned out, I would lose a food because of an allergy to it.

I write in my book about my first experience with testing and the rotation diet.

The twosome soon became a trio. Another young woman arrived the next week, and she joined the group going to and from the condo, the health center, and the grocery store. The rotation diet that we were placed on was overwhelming to figure out. We were all sick and tired and baffled at how to best tackle this diet. No food could be eaten more often than every four days, and no food in the same food group could be eaten more often than every other day.

We decided that we would eat our meals together. We would plan together, shop together, and each would be responsible for a certain portion of lunch or dinner. This worked for the first week or so. But as the three of us started our food testing, shared meals became more and more difficult. I wrote in my journal, “My body has gone through two anaphylactic and a delayed reaction three days in a row.” Every day one or all three of us would lose another food or two. By this time, though, we had a grasp on the rotation diet. We would still try and eat together but bring our own food.

I wrote on March 9, 2002, “Hooray, it is Saturday. We all can sleep in tomorrow. I have been very depressed all day. After the sauna I did some food testing. I cannot eat blueberries or navy beans now. So I have been tested for 18 foods and have five safe ones. Not good odds when I need 24 safe foods for the rotation diet….”

Breakfast was the same every four days. Day one was cooked apples, day two was eggs, day three was pears, and day four was raspberries.

I have thrown away so much of my materials and recipe books.  I didn’t keep anything when I moved into my safe house.  I am getting a new copy of the rotation booklet that I had and will post more on the diet in the near future.  I will also post some other recipes that I have found that are safe for me and avoiding mold at the same as well.

One response to “Rotation Diet

  1. Pingback: Torture and Freedom

Leave a Reply

